FRITZ!Box 3272 – Service - Knowledge Base

FRITZ!Box 3272 – Service

Installing an older FRITZ!OS (downgrade)

Updates for the FRITZ!Box not only add additional new functions, they also enhance and improve on existing functions and resolve known issues. It is possible to reinstall an older version (downgrade). However, for these reasons we do not recommend it.

Requirements

  • Windows 10 / 8 / 7 is installed on the computer.

1 Saving data from the internal memory

This procedure deletes the internal memory. Therefore, save all of the data that you still need first:

  1. Click "Home Network" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Storage (NAS)" in the "Home Network" menu.
  3. If the option "Storage (NAS) enabled" is enabled, click "Internal memory".
    • The contents of FRITZ!NAS are displayed.
  4. Mark the folders and files you would like to back up and click "Download".
    • The data is now copied to the download order you specified.

2 Saving the FRITZ!Box settings

When you downgrade, the factory settings are loaded, which deletes all of your settings. You can save the settings and restore some of them after you downgrade:

Note:You can only restore all of your settings if you saved them before you installed the newer FRITZ!OS version because new FRITZ!OS versions offer a greater range of functions than older versions.

3 Downloading the recovery tool

  1. Call up https://service.avm.de/downloads/ in a web browser.
  2. Switch to the folder "Downgrade", then to the subfolder for your FRITZ!Box model, and then to the folder "english".
  3. Download the file with the file extension ".exe" to the computer.

4 Connecting the FRITZ!Box with the computer

  1. Use the network cable included with delivery to connect the computer directly to a "LAN" port on the FRITZ!Box. 
  2. Clear all other connections between your FRITZ!Box and network devices or USB devices.

5 Disabling firewalls

ATTENTION!Only disable firewalls when applying the recovery tool and re-enable them before establishing an Internet connection. This software protects your computer from attacks from the Internet and prevents other threats (for example computer viruses) from being executed.

  1. Disconnect the FRITZ!Box from the Internet and do not reconnect it until the firewall is started.
  2. Configure all firewalls on your computer (e.g. ZoneAlarm, Norton Security) so that they are not automatically re-enabled when your computer restarts.
  3. Close any active firewall applications.
  4. Disable the Windows firewall:

    Windows 10

    1. Click "Start" and then "Settings".
    2. Click "Network and Internet" and then "Windows Firewall".
    3. Disable the Windows firewall.

    Windows 8

    1. Press the keyboard shortcut "Windows key" + "X" and select "Control Panel" from the context menu.
    2. Click "System and Security" and then "Windows Firewall".
    3. Disable the Windows firewall.

    Windows 7

    1. In Windows, click "Start" and then "Control Panel".
    2. Select "Category" from the drop-down list "View by:" (top right) in the "Control Panel" menu.
    3. Click "System and Security" and then "Windows Firewall".
    4. Disable the Windows firewall.

6 Applying the recovery tool

When you downgrade, the factory settings are loaded, which deletes all of your settings. You can save the settings and restore some of them after you downgrade:

Note:You can only restore all of your settings if you saved them before you installed the newer FRITZ!OS version because new FRITZ!OS versions offer a greater range of functions than older versions.

  1. Run the file "fritz.box_...recover-image.exe" and click "Next".
  2. Follow the instructions.

    Note:It is not an error if the tool does not search for the FRITZ!Box under its IP address 192.168.178.1, but under a different IP address instead. This does not affect the procedure.

    • If the tool displays an error message such as "Recovery failed due to an error":
      • Run the recovery tool again. If recovery fails after several attempts, run the recovery tool on a different computer.
    • When the recovery tool displays the message "Complete - FRITZ!Box successfully restored!", then the recovery process was ended successfully.

Now the older FRITZ!OS is installed. If you saved the settings for your FRITZ!Box, you can now restore them.